Day Ten


It’s been about five hours since I had my tenth radiation treatment. Day ten – ten treatments out of fourteen.

As has become the norm, I hit a wall around 7:30 tonight. I was able to keep myself awake so that I’ll be able to sleep through the night. That seems to have been the most consistant side effect that I experienced throughout the treatments…fatigue. Given the other options I’ll consider myself fortunate. I met with the oncologist after my appointment and he outlined my follow up plan. I’ll get chest, abdominal and pelvic CT scans and X-rays along with more blood work in four months. If everything is normal we’ll wait another six months and do another chest x-ray and blood test. We’ll probably continue that pattern for two and a half to three years before they’ll give me a clean bill of health. That’s the best I can ask for and what we’re praying for.

Health is a fickle thing. Lisa and I have barely scratched our insurance deductible in the entire 22+ years that we’ve been married. Sure there have been a few blips along the way like the year Lisa broke her foot when she tripped on a rock carrying our two year old niece, Savannah. Savannah turned 18 this year and graduated from high school.

This year has been different. We’ve probably used more health insurance this year than we have our entire married life…combined. I guess that’s what it’s there for, but I sure would’ve preferred to keep things like it had been in previous years.

Lisa hasn’t been feeling well for about a week. She went to the doctor on Monday and they took a lot of blood to run some tests. She should get the results on Wednesday. She’s been running a low grade fever for the past couple of days so she hasn’t been at work. Hopefully we’ll get some answers tomorrow and get her feeling better again.

Day ten is a wrap. I’m excited that there’s only three days and four treatments left. There’s definitely light at the end of the tunnel!

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day Ten

  1. mndunn26 says:

    Praying for you and your wife, friend. Health may be fickle, but God is steady.

Leave a Reply

