Day Nine


Yesterday was my ninth radiation treatment out of the 14 originally scheduled. I still seem to be tolerating the treatments pretty well. I do get tired within a few hours but have learned to fight off the temptation to sleep until it’s really time to go to bed for the night.

I’ll head back for treatment number ten this afternoon. I’ve got the double treatment set up for Friday so I don’t have to return next week to finish up. Friday is a day I’m both looking forward to as well as dreading. I am really looking forward to being done with the treatments. Everyone at the Cancer Center at Memorial Hospital have been great. Their friendly conversations and attention to detail have made the experience much more tolerable. I’m looking forward to not having to drive all the way there and back and really looking forward to not being wiped out every night around 7:30 or 8:00. I’m hoping that the double treatment won’t have double effects, but at least it will be the final day and I’ll have the weekend to recuperate.

One cool thing that happened last week was I got a call from Andrea with the Livestrong organization. I had contacted them in June to get information and check into potential alternatives to radiation therapy. Andrea was calling just to check in to see how things were going and see if I had any other questions that they might be able to help me with. I think it’s great that they too k the time to follow up, especially since I haven’t heard anything from either my general practitioner or urologist during the treatments.

There’s still a lot going on in our lives that I’ll share more about soon. We’re definitely going through a season that is challenging us in more ways than we imagined.

Nine treatments down, five treatments and four days to go!

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

