Day Six


It came a day later than anticipated, but Day Six finally arrived.

Apparently the manufacturer’s of the radiation machines build in a no tolerance fault detector…if everything is functioning perfectly the machine works, if the slightest thing goes wrong it shuts down completely. That kind of fail safe is a good feature in a machine designed to emit abnormally high amounts of radiation into the human body.

The folks at the cancer center re-took the x-rays they had shot on Monday and made new target marks on my left and right side instead of the mark they had been using on my stomach. They said it’ll be more accurate with the new marks. After the treatment I met with the oncologist which is just a short Q and A session to check to see how I’m responding to the treatments. I took the opportunity to ask if we could boost the dosage a bit to make up for missing yesterday and still finish on the 20th instead of the 23rd. He said no but did say I could double up with two treatments on one day as long as they were six hours apart. I think I’ll figure that out with my schedule, take the entire day off work and make it happen.

One thing became very apparent to me today. There are a lot of people that I know that are experiencing some sort of cancer. There are a dozen people that I work with that either have (or have had) cancer, or have a family member who has cancer. There are half a dozen other people who are friends or family members of friends who have cancer. I’m sure there are many more but cancer is still considered a “taboo” subject for a lot of people. Treatments continue to improve but they are still, in my opinion, barbaric in many ways; radiation, chemotherapy, radical surgical removal, etc… Statistically, it’s no longer a question of if you should get cancer, but when.

I encourage everyone who reads this blog to make the time to do research, be aware of symptoms, don’t take the issue of cancer lightly. Women are encouraged to have regular exams to detect breast cancer but how many men know they need to have regular exams for testicular cancer? Don’t wait until it’s too late. Be proactive.

For me, today was Day Six – eight more treatments to go.

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

