Day Five


After being able to take the weekend off, my radiation treatments resumed today. The countdown continues with day five.

There was a little extra bit of radiation applied as they wanted to take a couple of x-rays to make sure everything was ok. Maybe they wanted to be certain that none of my internal organs had shifted over the weekend…I don’t know. I guess a litte extra dose of radiation won’t hurt.

The treatment went off as scheduled and I’m feeling ok. I’m hoping that my sciatic nerve trouble won’t return – the radiation tech’s still maintain that the radiation had nothing to do with the flair up but since I’ve never had sciatic issues before I’m not convinced. The real test will come later tonight when it’s time to go to sleep.

I came to realize over the weekend how much I am not enjoying the radiation treatments. I try to remind myself how fortunate I am that it’s low dose, it’s only three weeks, and there’s no chemo involved. There are thousands upon thousands of people out there who are experiencing far worse than I am so I need to suck it up.

Ironic observation of the day: As I as pulling in to the parking lot I noticed a couple of guys standing by their car sucking nicotine into their lungs. When they finished they went inside to be “moral support” for a woman who was being given both radiation and chemo treatments. Hello? Your wife and daughter has CANCER and you still can’t kick a habit that might have contributed to hers and will definitely be the cause of yours?

Day five is done…only nine more to go.

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

