Day Four


It’s Day Four. I don’t think it’s related to the radiation…at least the ladies at the cancer center said it wasn’t but oh, my aching back!

And this isn’t like the normal back issues that I’ve been seeing a chiropractor on a regular basis for over the past decade . This is a shooting pain from my lower back down through the back of both legs. With my limited medical background I would say it must be my sciatic nerve acting up.

Ibuprofen seems to provide some relief but man, did it get bad this morning. I was attending the Willow Creek Leadership Summit and had to get up and walk out of the auditorium to try and stretch. No matter what I did the pain would not go away. I’ve always been sensitive to people with their back pain since I’ve had issues in the past. I never understood how painful tweaking your sciatic nerve is. My sister-in-law, Christy, had sciatic issues when she was pregnant with her son and I just didn’t have a reference point for what she was feeling. Ouch! I don’t think I’ve felt anything like that before unless something happened that was going to need stitches and leave a scar and even then it wasn’t over as large an area of my body.

Other than that, the radiation treatments are still going well. Today is day four and so far I’m not feeling adverse effects from todays dose. Of course my aching back might be hiding something minor. I’m grateful to have the next couple of days off without treatment. Now if I can just get the lawn mowed between rain showers this weekend.

Four down, ten to go.

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

