And so it begins…


It’s August 1st, 2010. Tomorrow is August 2nd. Tomorrow begins the next chapter of things I have never experienced before, nor did I want to experience. Tomorrow is the beginning of three weeks of radiation therapy that will, hopefully, wipe out any potential remnants of the cancer that was surgically removed from me on May 27th.

The doctors have been very positive about the outcome. They have told me about the potential side effects and then said that the dosage is low enough and I seem to have a fairly strong tolerance to stress so they don’t foresee that I’ll have much problem with the treatment. But they also mention that everyone reacts differently.

I really do have a lot to be thankful for with this whole experience. The cancer was caught in the early stages and they believe it hadn’t had the opportunity to spread beyond the tumor that was removed. I personally know of several people going through cancer treatment right now that aren’t as fortunate. There have been several others in the past who experienced far more radical treatment. Some have survived to tell their story and be able to encourage others. Others have not.

I’ve received tremendous support from my family, friends and co-workers. The thoughts and prayers they/you have shared are very appreciated – more than I can ever express. I’ve done some research online and through conversations with people at Lance Armstrong’s Livestrong foundation. The amount of information available is astounding and can be daunting. At the same time it has been encouraging.

I will beat this and, through my experience I will learn and grow. I will be an encouragement to others who may find themselves in a similar situation. I will be grateful for every person who I cross paths with and for every day I have been given to continue in this world. I’ll post about my experiences in the hope that they may be helpful to someone else who stumbles across this blog.

And so, it begins…

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

