Life’s Curve Balls


This past week certainly didn’t go like I had planned. Life sure has a way of throwing you curve balls when you least expect them.

I woke up Sunday feeling like I had been kicked in the groin, except there wasn’t any reason I should’ve felt that way. The pain persisted and I noticed some swelling. I got in to see my doctor on Wednesday. I probably should’ve tried harder to get in earlier but I was busy…you know how that goes, right? My doctor promptly sent me off to get an ultrasound. On Thursday I was referred to a urologist and was in surgery Thursday evening for what they suspect is testicular cancer. Wow.

I still haven’t received the pathology report on the tumor that they removed but the doctors are pretty certain it’s cancerous. They also are fairly confidant that it hadn’t spread but we’re doing further tests next week to be sure. Right now we’re waiting for approval from the health insurance for the follow up tests which will consist of a chest x-ray, CT scan and more blood tests.

Everything happened incredibly quickly. So quickly that I’m not even sure I’ve completely processed what’s been going on. I’ve received incredible support from my family, especially from Lisa. She has been incredibly strong through the whole ordeal. The outpouring of support from family and friends has been a source of strength for me. My faith in God is helping more than I can even imagine right now.

Lisa and I are scheduled to fly to Colombia in a week. At this point the doctors are saying there’s no reason we can’t go. It’s a trip I’ve really been looking forward to since Lisa will be able to meet Julio, one of the children we sponsor through Compassion. So we’re going. I’m sure I won’t be quite as active on the trip as I had hoped to be. I won’t go snorkeling like I did the first time I went to Cartagena and I don’t think I’ll play futbol with the kids at the child centers in Bogota. But I will get to see Julio again and introduce him to Lisa. We’ll visit his home and meet his family.

It kind of feels like normalcy in the midst of chaos. I’m hoping all the tests will confirm that nothing spread beyond the tumor that was removed and that I won’t need to go through chemo or radiation therapy. The doctors have said that if we got to chose what kind of cancer to get, this is the one that is most treatable. Like anyone really wants to chose to get cancer. I’ve joked that maybe I’ll take on Lance Armstrong in the Tour de France next year. Or since I was a swimmer in high school maybe I’ll go after all of Michael Phelps Olympic records in the next summer games.

Or maybe I’ll just try to get better and see what lessons I’m supposed to take away from this whole experience. I don’t know if this is a wake up call or what. Whatever it is, it’s gotten my attention. Now I just need to try and listen for the message I’m supposed to hear.

This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life’s Curve Balls

  1. maryalpers says:

    Gosh Ric – I didn’t know until tonight – I’m so sorry and will definitely keep you in my prayers. It sounds like you moving quickly was a good thing. Please know that we are praying for you and believe that you will be fine. Keep in touch…. Mary (and Jeff)

Leave a Reply

